2 Days in NOTTINGHAM

I am back with the second post about Nottingham ( as I promised ) 👍

Before I left and took a coach to go there I did a research what could I see in the city. My list was pretty long and I was planning to do everything what was on there however…the weather changed everything. ⚡ ☔ ☁

According to the weather forecast that weekend was supposed to be quite nice and sunny so the first time ever I did not bring umbrella with me. I took lovely spring clothes and my lovely white trainers hoping that the weather will be amazing. I think seeing all these signs of upcoming spring I forgot that I am actually still in England and the weather could suprise me any time…and it did. 💦☔

For most of the day was pouring with rain. My clothes were soaking wet and my lovely white trainers were not white any more. That unlucky rainy Saturday I saw hardly anything. I wanted to spend most of the time indoors staying warm and dry if possible. Being always an optimist rainy Saturday brought some positive things too. It let me to enjoy many coffee shops, cakes and hot drinks in the heart of Nottingham…not too bad after all. ☕

Maybe I didn`t do as much as I wanted but I can still make a special list of things you MUST DO in Nottingham:

1. DON`T BE LAZY AND WALK  💪

DSC01018.JPG

When you are in the city centre WALK everywhere. Just enjoy the busy streets, watch people passing by, street artists having their shows or simply enjoy your stay in there. I can understand when people have difficulties with mobility but when your legs are completely fine don`t take a bus/tram everywhere. I think sightseeing and exploring places is the best on our feet. City centre is really beautiful so have a proper stroll around.

DSC00856.JPG

Nottingham is a tourist destination so most of the top attractions are shown on the street signs pointing the right direction where to go. You won`t even need google maps. 🗺

2. HAVE A COFFEE IN UGLY BREAD BAKERY  🍞

20170318_170912.jpg

I think I spent there around 3hrs. Lovely place to sit and enjoy coffee and cakes. If you don`t fancy any cakes or sweets you can order proper lunch as well. The place was so nice with its 2 extra floors that I felt like I want to stay there and don`t go anywhere else.

20170318_160528.jpg

When you sit by the window you have a nice view at busy streets of Nottingham. Decoration inside was very interesting. I would say a little bit of everything and that`s why is so special and makes you feel comfortable and cosy. My hot chocolate wasn`t as thick as it should be but 100 points for a great atmosphere. Really lovely place to go.

3. SHOPPING🛍/ TOILET 🚽/ WIFI 📲

DSC00964.JPG

Just when you arrive and get off your coach you will see Broadmarsh shopping centre just in front of you. Worth going there in case you are desperate to go to the toilet which is FREE of charge (as it should be in the shopping centre). There are also pound stores perfect when your funds are limited and you are starving after your journey. Everything £1 and plenty of food to choose. What`s the most important shopping centre has FREE WIFI! You just need to sign in quickly and you can surf in the Internet as much as you want.

4.EDUCATE YOURSELF IN NOTTINGHAM CONTEMPORARY  🖼

DSC00843.JPG

Modern art gallery. The exhibition `The Place is Here` was really great. I enjoyed looking at all the hard work and effort of these artists who created the very touching pieces of art. I didn`t have time to read all the information describing separate items but only looking at these things around made you actually understand the message from the author.

DSC00844.JPG

My favourite place in the gallery was a little store where you could buy really fun and weird things. Look at this pizza cutter. Pretty cool isn`t it?

DSC00838.JPG

Or the money box with Einstein`s head.

DSC00841.JPG

I felt like a little kid who wants to touch and see everything. I was really surprised with ideas people have to create these silly but at the same time amazing and useful things.

The gallery has also a coffee shop downstairs but selection of food is quite limited.

5. EAT SOMETHING IN THE CHURCH/PIANO RESTAURANT 🎹

GOPR0614.JPG

Looks like a church because it was a church but…not any more. This lovely building was converted into a pub/restaurant where you can sit down and grab a drink or have some food. I didn`t have drinks inside neither food. I was able to peer through the window. It looked really posh and expensive especially with the guards in front door. I just prefered to stay away and choose a `normal` place to eat.

6. BUY A TICKET AND GO 🚎

DSC01008.JPG

Once you are in Nottingham use a tram at least once. The transport is really amazing, efficient and cheap. Just look at this tram. I think I don`t need to say anything more. Simply the best… 🎼

7. EAT TILL YOU DROP IN WORLD CUISINE BUFFET  🍝

GOPR0604.JPG

OMG! I can say so many great things about this place. It is the greatest buffet restaurant I have ever been to. It`s so large. When I entered there I couldn`t stop checking every single corner in there. The design and decoration is stunning. Its name is perfect to describe that place. You really feel like you are in several countries once you are there. Little bit of culture from all around the world.

GOPR0585.JPG

It was Sunday and the price is normally higher over the weekend but paying around £15 per person and having that unlimited food heaven was amazing. Especially for someone who lives in London and knows that for the average food you normally spend £10/15. The only thing you pay extra are drinks which are not included in the offer. I saw there many people celebrating their birthday parties and the cocktails they had were really great looking. When it comes to food you have really everything. So many things to choose from. Salads, sushi, stews, potatoes, pastas, meat and so on and so on. The list is endless. The great thing was also a possibility of choosing ingredients and giving them to cook to actually prepare your food however you want.

GOPR0588.JPG

The dessert section was so great. You could order freshly made pancakes with any toppings you want. Not even mentioning all variety of cakes, ice creams, fruits. For me HEAVEN.

8. GO BACK WITH THE TIME IN YE OLDE TRIP TO JERUASLEM  🍻

DSC00933.JPG

Something definitely special to check out. One of the oldest pubs in England. According to the writing on the front it is dated back to the 1189AD however that information is not sure.  

DSC00935.JPG

It is actually the Pub made in a rock. When you enter inside you have the funny feeling of being in a cave. Amazing decoration and atmosphere. You can feel the spirit of the olden days. Normally very busy because it`s popular destination not only for tourists but also for locals.

GOPR0547.JPG

It doesn`t have much space and the rooms are very small but it`s the great place to go. I thought the prices would be really scary but actually the beer cost around £3 which is not bad at all. Lovely Pub.

GOPR0550.JPG

9. HAVE A NICE VIEW FROM NOTTINGHAM CASTLE 🏰

DSC00911.JPG

That`s probably the destination number one on the tourists` list. Unfortunately I didn`t have time to go inside and walk around but I checked the castle very precisely from outside. I looked inside through the gate on the beautiful yard and took few photos.

DSC00901.JPG

The castle was built in 1067 being a wooden construction and it didn`t look anything like a castle we have now. After some time the wood was replaced for the hard stone which was much better and stronger material. The history of castle is quite sad. It went through a lot being mostly demolished in 1649. Mansion built on the site didn`t survive either which was destroyed entirely.

DSC00893.JPG

There is not much left of the castle now which was transformed into museum and gallery. The place where the castle was built is amazing because it was placed on the top of the rock giving breath taking views until these days.

10. TAKE A SELFIE WITH THE FAMOUS ROBBER- ROBIN HOOD 💰

DSC00881.JPG

To enter to the castle you will need to purchase a ticket ( £ 7) however the most famous thing to do around the castle is to take a photo with Robin Hood-obviously the statue of Robin Hood ( not the real one ). It`s for free and it`s the most taken and shared photo from Nottingham. I took so many and so the other people before and after me. Make sure you will do it too!

11. EXPLORE CITY OF CAVES 

DSC00947.JPG

Unfortunately I wasn`t able to make it and that was definitely the thing I wanted to do…but well…never mind…next time. Just next to the castle you can see amazing caves in a rock. However it`s only a tiny bit which is uncovered. There is a huge complex of caves underneath the city which probably links entire Nottingham. It`s not sure but it could be the place where people actually lived being connected with various tunnels throughout the city. During World War II people found a shelter there trying to protect themselves from bombs and explosions.

DSC00945.JPG

If you really want to get to know a bit more about caves you should definitely book a tour. It`s very cheap £5 and being able to actually enter there is amazing enough. Tours run at the particular time so check before you go because you might be disappointed (like me) finding out that the tours are finished. Just standing in front of these caves made you feel really great. Imagine inside!

12. HAVE A PICNIC WITH THE WATER AROUND ⛵

DSC00853.JPG

It couldn`t be a better walk than the walk along the canal or the riverside. Take your time and enjoy the beautiful views. You will find cafes and restaurants around. Having a coffee in a place like that with the peaceful sound of water and reflection of the sun is pretty amazing. When the weather is nice make sure you have some picnic stuff.

DSC00961.JPG

13. SPOT THE TAXI  🚙

DSC00854.JPG

I don`t know if all of them are the same but looks like Nottingham has its own taxi cars. London is famous of having black cabs and probably Nottingham didn`t want to be left behind. Green taxi please!

14. LOOK FOR THE GRAFFITI ART 👀

DSC00852.JPG

Maybe Nottingham is not a place with well known graffiti spots however I managed to find some. Just look around and maybe you will be lucky to find some more. I think the city can suprise you with many things yet…

DSC01016.JPG

15. DRESS UP IN LUVYABABES STORE 🎃

GOPR0478.JPG

Being in the shopping centre (Victoria Centre) I found an amazing shop with dressing up clothes. Really, you can find there everything.

GOPR0490.JPG

Any costumes, any gadgets, anything you want. The store is quite big which means you have so much to choose from. Masks, wigs, hats, glasses, brooms… it goes on and on. It so much fun because you can even try things on. I found even fake tattoos and I must say for the price ~£1 they look really nice.

GOPR0492.JPG

16. ADMIRE THE STUNNING ARCHITECTURE OF ST. MARY`S CHURCH

GOPR0638.JPG

The church is really beautiful. Especially from outside. It was placed on a special list for its amazing and outstanding architecture which you can still admire nowadays.

GOPR0624.JPG

It`s the oldest parish in Nottingham which adds even more to the church. When you step inside you will see great stained glass windows which look lovely letting the light into the church.

GOPR0634.JPG

There are many concert and performances organised in the church so maybe if you are lucky you can attend one of them.

17. HAVE A REST BY THE FOUNTAIN IN OLD TOWN SQUARE ⛲

DSC00975.JPG

Probably is the second most famous town square after Trafalgar Square in London. When you stand in there you are in the heart of the city. That`s the place where people meet together, where all the big events take place, where food markets are offering variety of food, where Winter Wonderland gives you the Christmas spirit and so on and so on. That`s definitely the most vibrant place in Nottingham.

DSC00988.JPG

You can see lots of buses and trams around moving all the different directions. Cafes, shops, restaurants and much more. You really won`t be bored in there. I enjoyed sitting next to the fountain which was a great place to have a break from walking and rest a little bit. Don`t forget to take a photo with lion`s statues which are just on the sides of Council House.

DSC00997.JPG

18. IMAGE BEING IN THE CENTRE OF WORLD`S FAMOUS LACE MARKET 🌍

DSC00858.JPG

During the time of British Empire Nottingham was on the top when it comes to the lace and its making. Unfortunately the time has changed and the lace industry is not that popular any more. Maybe you won`t find lace fabrics in every corner but there is still something worth checking. The architecture is quite interesting mostly red brick buildings as for the Victorian style. It is said that the market is known to be the oldest area in the city so even moving around feels very special.

19. HAVE THE LUXURY EXPERIENCE IN FLYING HORSE WALK 🛍

GOPR0448.JPG

That`s the most beautiful shopping centre I have ever been to. Looks very posh and luxury as well as shops in there. Maybe I won`t buy anything in there but the place is so different and special that walking around is a must. You won`t actually feel like you are in the shopping centre.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0446.

The ceiling and all the rest is stunning as for the quality of the old museum. It`s not very well known place as for the tourist  attraction but believe me you will be amazed by its beauty.

Wooooooow I think my list is pretty long and I hope you enjoyed it. I feel like I will go there again because Nottingham has so much more to discover. If you have any questions I am happy to answer them all. Take care and see ya!

6 thoughts on “2 Days in NOTTINGHAM

  1. Wooow! This post is very nice. I like all your posts but this one was unusual 😉 I envy you that you live in London and you can visit close places which are really interesting.
    I agree with you – those pizza cutter and money box are funny and interesting. I’d like to have them, especially the pizza cutter! Did you buy them? I think the store TIGER is quite similar to the shop which you visited. There are also amusing things. Recently I bought there a clapper board 😀
    Nottingham is very nice and I hope you take me there soon, ha ha 🙂

    Love from Poland! ❤
    _____________________

    PS I've just written a post on my blog about one monument in London. I'll be so happy if you check it out and post a comment. You live in London so I hope this post interest you 😉

    http://love-english-by-ann.blogspot.com/2017/04/monuments-st-pauls-cathedral.html

    Like

    1. Thank you Ann! Unfortunately I didn`t buy the pizza cutter- it was sooooo expensive ££££… but I had enough time to enjoy it in the shop 😛 I love TIGER!!! It`s the best shop ever. So cheap and so creative. Love from Poland too! (Not in London this time 😛 ).
      St. Paul`s Cathedral-lovely place. I will check the post for sure. 🙂

      Like

      1. Yes, TIGER is the best shop in the world!! 👍😜 Thank you for your comment which is really nice for me. Wow! Are you in Poland? Eater is coming so I’m sure you’re visiting your family 🐣🐰👪 Am I right? 😅

        Like

Leave a Reply

